Sometimes when you made changes to a team work order, these changes were not saved because another technician was editing this team work order at the same time with you. This was especially critical when team work orders were simultaneously opened for editing by a technician and a “system user” that created or updated team work orders automatically based on specific workflow settings. In order to prevent such situations, now only one user can edit a team work order at a time.
If you try to edit a team work order that is being edited by another technician or system user, you get the appropriate warning message.
If you try to monitor a team work order that is being edited by another technician or system user, you also get the appropriate warning message; however, you are asked if you want to monitor the work order without editing, so you can tap Yes in the message to see the Order Monitor in the read-only mode.
As multiple users are not allowed to edit the same team work order simultaneously, there is a chance that one technician can start editing a team work order and may not stop editing it for some reasons, so other technicians or system user cannot start editing this team work order for a long time. In order to prevent such situation, we limited the time within which a team work order can be edited by one user.
Now when you open a team work order for monitoring or editing (either directly or from invoice)…
...at the top of the screen below the title of the screen you see a green line which is a decreasing progress bar that shows how much time is left for editing.
Note As long as you make changes (or just swipe or scroll the screen), the progress bar does not decrease.
If you don’t make any changes within 45 seconds, the progress bar starts decreasing.
Note The progress bar decreases even when the device is blocked or the application is in the background while you are using another app. If the Internet connection is lost while you are editing a team work order, the progress bar will also be decreasing, no matter if you make any changes or not, but if the Internet connection is not reestablished your changes will not be saved.
If you make some changes while the progress bar is decreasing, the progress bar automatically resets to default, and in 45 seconds starts decreasing again.
The editing time expires in 10 minutes, so if you don’t make any changes, 1 minute before the expiration time you get the warning message that editing time will soon expire, and you are asked whether you want to continue editing. If you tap Yes in this message, the progress bar automatically resets to default.
If you don’t do anything with the first message, at the end of the expiration time you get the second message which informs you that editing time has expired and wizard will be closed without saving any changes.
Note As the progress bar decreases the green line becomes yellow, and then turns red at the end.