When you create more than one service request for the same customer and enter the same VIN, Stock#, or RO#, if duplicate checking is turned on in the Back Office application, you will either get a warning message about the duplicate, or you will not even be able to save service request until you correct the duplicate entry.

Important! Duplicate checking can be turned on in the Service Request Type dialog box, on the General Settings tab, in the Check for Duplicate section: 

  • None means that duplicate checking is turned off, so technicians can create more than one service request with the same VIN, Stock#, and RO#.
  • Warning Only means that technicians will be warned about duplicates (if the appropriate check boxes are selected), but they still can create more than one service request with the same VIN, Stock#, and RO#.
  • Error with Blocking means that technicians cannot create more than one service request with the same VIN, Stock#, and RO# (if the appropriate check boxes are selected).

If either the Warning Only option or the Error with Blocking option is selected together with at least one check box, for example, the VIN check box, when you create a service request for the same customer and enter the same VIN, the appropriate Duplicates message will be shown. 

If you don’t correct the duplicate entry, when you save the service request you will get the appropriate Warning message. 

  • If the Error with Blocking option is selected, you will not be able to save the service request. 
  • If the Warning Only option is selected, you can tap Save and service request will be saved with duplicate entry.

Did this answer your question?